Title: Coach
Classes: Tiny Tots, Kidz Gym, Girls Gymnastics. I also work Parties, Open Gym, Camp, and Parents’ Night Out.

Q: Why did you decide to apply for a job at ASI?
A: Gymnastics has played a huge role in my life. I did club gymnastics for about 12 years. I competed as a level nine gymnast and went to Western Nationals in 2004. I applied at ASI because I appreciate what gymnastics can do in a child’s life.

Q: What do you love about working at ASI?
A: Probably the feet smell. 🙂 Kidding. I love the people I work with, the positive energy, the laughter, and that every day is different.

Q: How do you think gymnastics helps kids?
A: I like that gymnastics is difficult. I know that sounds weird, but gymnastics taught me discipline, determination, and attributed to my work ethic. In gymnastics, you will get to a point where it is no longer easy. Sometimes it takes months and months to learn certain skills. People know how physically difficult gymnastics is, but often only gymnasts know how challenging it is mentally. Gymnastics teaches you to have a strong mind and body.

Q: Why do you enjoy coaching?
A: I love telling the kids how awesome they are and seeing them improve every week!

Q: What’s one of the proudest moments you’ve had as a coach?
A: I had a girl in a Kidz Gym class that had trouble listening. We had been working really hard for a few months at being a good listener, and one day we had three new students in class. That day I saw her take a leadership role, she helped the other kids follow the circuit and was a great example for the new students. I was so proud of her! I’m still pretty new to coaching, so for me I see success in the little things. When a kid learns a new skill and their eyes light up with excitement! I see their confidence growing and it warms my heart.

Getting To Know You:

Q: Where are you from?
A: I’m a Texas girl. Born and raised.

Q: Are you currently in school (college/high school) and where?
A: In 2010 I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Dance from The University of North Texas. I would like to return to school in the future for a Master’s degree so I can teach dance in a college setting.

Q: What’s something someone would be surprised to know about you?
A: I’m a dancer! I perform with a number of local companies. I mostly do modern dance, but I also do ballet, jazz, and hip hop.

Q: What are your hobbies/interests outside of working at ASI?
A: I love being active and creative! I do yoga, run, ride my bike, draw, paint, and read. I also love trying new food, sleeping, and going to museums.

Q: What sports and activities did you participate in while growing up?
A: Besides gymnastics and dance, I also loved singing. I was in the varsity show choir in high school.

Q: Have you ever coached or taught children before?
A: I’ve also taught dance! I’ve taught ballet, tap, jazz, modern, hip hop, and creative movement.

Q: What is one goal you’d like to accomplish in your lifetime?
A: I want to see the world and experience its beauty. I’d also like to see outer space, but I think I’ll just admire it from telescopes.

Fun Facts:

Favorite Color: Yellow!
Favorite Animal: In the real world, giraffes. Otherwise, I would say a phoenix.
Favorite Sport: Gymnastics!
Favorite Food: Pizza! I could live off pizza the rest of my life!
Favorite Super Hero: Batman. Definitely Batman.